The EUYO's alumni go on to play with some of the best orchestras in the world. Recent appointments of EUYO players include:


Jose Monton (Violin), is a member of the Bayerisches Staatsorchester (Bavarian State Orchestra) at the Munich Opera

David Stark (Double Bass, British), Principal Double Bassist at the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, December 2012

Roberta Inglese (Harp, Italian), Solo Harp at the Teatro dell'Opera di Roma, December 2012

Mads Buchert (Percussion, Danish), Co-Principal Timpanist at the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra, Finland, December 2012

Judith Ullmer (nee Poldlehner - Viola/Austrian) is a member of the Niederösterreichisches Tonkünstler Orchester.

Peter Facer (Oboe/British), Guest Principal Oboe, Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, New Zealand, September 2012

Magnus Koch Jensen (Bassoon/Danish), Principal Bassoon, Orchestra of the Royal Danish Opera

Bertold Stecher (Trumpet/Italian) - Principal trumpet Haydn Orchestra Bozen/Bolzano, Italy

Moritz Pfister (Violin/German) - Principal 2nd Violin, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, UK

Anssi Kinnunen (Horn/Finnish) - Solo Horn Player, Philharmonie Baden Baden, Germany (February 2011)

Jeroen Mentens (Trombone, Belgian) - Principal Trombone at the Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester (January 2011)

Giuliano Sommerhalder (Trumpet/German) - Principal Trumpet Player, Royal Concertgebouw, Amsterdam (December 2010)

Aldo Baerten (Flute/Belgian) - Principal Flutist, Royal Flemish Philharmonic, Belgian

Claire Whitson (double bass/British) is a member of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Steven Craven (Trumpet/British) is a member of the Malaga Philharmonic Orchestra.

Jan Regulski (violin/Polish) - 2nd Violin, Philharmonia Orchestra (December 2009).

Alexej Bröse (percussion/German) has been appointed a Principal Percussionist of the Dresden Philharmonic (November 2009).

Natalia Tessak (violin/Polish) has been appointed 1st Violin tutti in the Royal Flemish Philharmonic, Antwerp (November 2009).

Johannes Gmeinder (clarinet/German) has been appointed Professor of Clarinet at Hochschule fur Musik Saarbrucken (October 2009).

Philip Cobb (trumpet/British) has been appointed Joint Principal Trumpet of the London Symphony Orchestra at the age of 21 (September 2009).

Dara de Cogan (Violin/Irish) - Head of Strings, tutor St Johns House, Ampleforth College, UK

Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay (violin/German) has been appointed Joint Concert Master of the Philharmonia Orchestra.

Catarina Zeh (bassoon/German) - Solo Bassoon of Sonderjyllands Symfonieorkester.

Blaise Dejardin (cello/French) - Cello, Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Erika Ohman (percussion/Swedish) - Percussion, Halle Orchestra.

Andreea Soldan (viola/German)- Viola, Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Pieter Nuytten (bassoon/Belgian) - Principal Bassoon, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra.

Rachel Helleur (cello/British) - Cello, Berliner Philharmoniker, Die 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker.

Giovani Pasini (viola/Italian) - Principal Viola, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra.

Cécile Rongen (clarinet/Dutch) - Clarinet, Radio Filharmonic Orchestra, Holland.

Aisling Casey (oboe/Irish) - Principal oboe, Dutch Radio Kamer Filharmonie.

Ed Jones (trombone/British) - Principal trombone, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Patrick King (percussion/British) - Principal timpani, Welsh National Opera.

Katie Bedford (flute/British) - Co-principal, English National Opera.

Christoph Ess (horn/German) - Principal horn, Bamberg Sympony Orchestra.

Anna Krimm (viola/German) - Co-principal viola, Beethoven Orchester, Bonn.

Julien Heichelbech (viola/French)- Principal viola, Nationaltheater Mannheim.

Gwenllian Richards (violin/Welsh) - sub co-Leader of BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Julie-Anne Manning (cello/Irish) - Halle Orchestra.

Michelangelo Mercuri (double bass/Italian) - Principal double bass, Haydn Orchester, Bolzano.

Stig Soenderriis (Trumpet/Danish) - Trumpet section, The Royal Guards Band of Copenhagen, Denmark (started in 1984)


Other appointments/awards:

Paul Watkins (Nash Ensemble and former principal cello of the BBC Philharmonic) has been appointed Associate Conductor of the English Chamber Orchestra, January 2008.

Theotime Voisin (double bass/French) has been awarded 2nd prize in the 'Valentino Bucchi International Competition, Fame and Fortune of Double Bass in the 20th and 21st Century' at the age of 16.


EUYO marriages and children!

Erik (Harp/Dutch) and Laura Groenestein-Hendriks (Viola/Dutch) met in EUYO in 2005 and are now married.

Sofia was born in October 2010 to Julie (violin/Belgian) and Florian (cello/French) Miller-Bastin.

Melisa was born in September 2009 to Rasa Sapiete (nee Belova - cello/Latvian) and Gints Sapietis (violin/Latvian).

Catherine Beynon (harp/British) and Kasper Thiesson (percussion/Danish) were married in August 2006. Their Maid of Honour, Emily Beynon (flute/British) and Best Man Wiland Welzel (percussion/German) are also former EUYO members!

Adan Delgado (trumpet/Spanish) and Ivi Ots (violin/Estonian) met in EUYO 3 years ago and are now engaged.

Wilmar de Visser (double bass/Dutch) and Aisling Casey (oboe/Irish) got married in 2002 and have a daughter called Sinead.

Lea Katherine Pfister was born to Astrid Schinker (double bass/German) and Daniel Pfister (cello/German) in 2001

Anouk Terriez (violin/French) and Olivier Theurillat (trumpet/French) met in EUYO and are now married.

Joachim (trumpet/German) and Silke (nee Gloger - violin/German) Schroder were married in 1996 and now have four children.